Uman’ New Jewish Cemetery
14, Vyzvolyteliv Street. The cemetery site borders with Pikivets'kyy Lane from the west.
Is the cemetery demolished
Type and height of existing fence
Type of the fence
Fenced and protected Jewish cemetery
General site condition
Unfenced Jewish cemetery. The cemetery is overgrown with tall grass. Some tombstones are located on the private land near 14 Vyzvolyteliv Street. The majority of the older preserved tombstones in the central section of the cemetery are immersed in the ground, and are therefore poorly visible on the surface. The western part of the cemetery is derelict.
Number of existing gravestones
50. Presumably the site is home to other tombstones, but due to the tall grass and the partial immersion of many of the stones it was difficult to obtain an accurate count. Moreover, there are around 1,000 broken or basic tombstones on the site. The inscriptions are barely legible, The oldest matzeva may date to 1881, while the oldest clearly legible tombstone is dated 1910. Moreover, there is a cenotaph with a plaque dated 2006. Unfortunately, locals were unable to tell the survey team exactly what this is. Whether the burial was made on the cemetery after a long break in operations or the plaque was simply installed at the cenotaph by relatives is difficult to determine.
Date of oldest tombstone
Date of newest tombstone
Urgency of erecting a fence
Preserved construction on site
The site is home to the tsiyun of Rabbi Shimshon Barski, son of Israel Menahem, author of Sefer "Atzot haMvorot"; and Likutey Etzot, a descendant of Rebbe Nachman of Bratslav and Besht (died 1935). There is another tsiyun dedicated to Rabbi Naftali of Bratslav, student of Nachman Khayhls, descendant of Yosef Yona, Natan from Bratslav, and Nachman Tultsiner. Finally, there is a tsiyun belonging to Rabbi Abraham Khazan, son of Nachman haLevi (died 1918) and Elikum Getsil, son of Rabbi Abraham (died 1918). Moreover, the site contains a cenotaph dedicated to those who died in the war between 1941 and 1942, installed by the relatives of the victims.
The cemetery was officially founded in 1894. However, it appears on the city plan, which dates to 1840. As such, it appears there was most likely an error in dating its foundation. Later, in 1941, it was marked on a Red Army map of the region. The oldest preserved tombstone dates to the early 20th century.